The Scottish-Asian Identity Crisis

Glasgow is the most populous and multi-cultural city of Scotland. Within it, Glasgow also has a huge population of Scottish-Asians. The largest community is mostly comprised of Pakistanis, Indians, Bengalis and Chinese.

The first generation came to Glasgow in the 50s and 60s, making them the first migrated generation. Now in 2014, Glasgow is mostly inhabited by the fourth generation of Asians, comprised of Pakistani and Indians with a small population of Chinese, Malaysians and other communities settling here too.

Asian teenagers in Glasgow live in two different worlds. A public one, in which they speak like Glaswegians, their attitudes, style and ambitions match with Glaswegians. The other is their private family life. They speak a totally different language, they respect different values and they find themselves in an almost completely different identity. It is not as simple as it looks to keep up both.

Kinza Ali, 27, cashier from Glasgow says, “My grandparents came in Glasgow in 60s. The cultural values that they brought with them, those values passed through my parents to me. Yes I have two different identities. I can speak two languages and I can fit in Asian, Scottish Asian and Scottish identities. I feel that I am the bridge in between the Scottish and Asian cultures.”

Not every Scottish-Asian feels like Kinza. Some people find it depressing and refer to themselves as the “lost generation”. They find it quite hard to carry dual identities. For them, it proves disastrous in their personal and public life.

Arjun, shopkeeper, 25 from Glasgow says, “I never had a good time in my school and college. I faced many pathetic situations like bullying, racial attacks and a different world at home. I was groomed in such a way where I had to follow my religion and cultural values simultaneously I was a Glaswegian. All my friends were Scottish and I always wanted and wished to be ‘just’ Scottish instead of having dual identities.”

Glasgow welcomes people from around the world. The Asian people are growing in numbers. Even now, there are special educational institutes, religious places, shops and hotels that belong to Scottish-Asians. Some people think that despite the fact the fourth generation of the Scottish Asians are more Scottish and less Asian, there is still a gap between the two.

Mr Shuja, 24, student from Glasgow says, “My father is a shopkeeper. He never wants me to drink alcohol, hang out with my Scottish friends at night and eat food which is not ‘halal’. However, I personally don’t feel anything wrong to do such things but in balance. I am being called a rebel in my family. My family is more entrepreneurial as they believe they are more likely to succeed and progress in their own business than in anyone else’s, I won’t like to be a shopkeeper as I am more interested to go to my professional career.”

Parents from second and third generation do not blame their children of being independent in their incline towards Scottish identity. They feel that their children do not feel very comfortable by identifying themselves as Scottish-Asian. Indeed, they are Scottish but to eliminate their heritage hints at inferiority. Parents have to educate them and give them space where they find their identity themselves rather than having it imposed on them.

Umair

Leave a comment